Curled Up in A Cosy Chair With Julia Donaldson & GLTC

Julia Donaldson Reading Time

Curled up in a cosy chair reading our favourite books is often where you will find us in the evenings and on the weekends. Because there is nothing more magical than getting lost in your favourite stories. Especially when they are as enchanting as Julia Donaldson’s whimsical and wonderful rhyming tales. Reading books is one of our all time favourite things to do together as a family, and not just at bed time. So its pleasing to see that the little lady has developed a love of books that is so much like ours, and that even without us she is quite happy to read to herself and her little stuffed friends or whoever is around.

Gltc Tent Book Time

Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler write some of our favourite children’s stories and have featured in the little lady’s beautiful GLTC Potter Library Table since she was very young. Their mini series of Tales From Acorn Wood such as Fox’s Socks, Postman Bear, Rabbit’s Nap and Hide and Seek Pig are absolutely charming and perfect for captivating little ones attention and imaginations with their lift the flap stories and was where our love for their wonderful stories began. I couldn’t wait for the little lady to be old enough to discover the enchanting world of The Gruffalo and their other classics which we have naturally progressed onto over the last few months. We absolutely love and adore reading A Squash and a Squeeze, The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo’s Child over and over again. Sometimes myself or the husband to the little lady, sometimes her reading to us, happily reciting from heart with a smile, some of the popular phrases from the books that are so familiar to her.

“Where are you going to, little brown mouse? Come and have lunch in my underground house.”

GLTC Potter Library Table

Macmillan Children’s Books and GLTC are working together in what must be one of the most perfect matches created, to publicise the reissue of eight of Julia Donaldson’s best known children’s classics. As part of the GLTC Testing Team we have very generously been given a set of the reissued books to add to our collection in our Potter Library Table which is one of the most beautiful, yet practical ways to organise and arrange and make books accessible for little ones. Just like other clever GLTC bookcases and book storage solutions, many of which they are currently offering 30% off of, it helps us make more space in our home which means that when it comes to our growing book collection it isn’t a squash and it isn’t a squeeze. If you havent yet discovered GLTC and their lovely collection of children’s furniture and toys then you most definitely need to. If your house is a squash and a squeeze you just need better storage, something which GLTC are fabulous at!

Its been an absolute delight discovering and introducing some of these classics like Room on the Broom and Monkey Puzzle to the little lady over the last few days and we’d love to give our readers the chance to do the same with their little ones. Macmillan Children’s Books and GLTC have very kindly given us a full set of the eight shiny reissued books including; A Squash and a Squeeze, The Gruffalo, The Gruffalo’s Child, Room on the Broom, Monkey Puzzle, The Smartest Giant in Town, The Snail and the Whale and Charlie Cook’s Favourite Books to give away to one lucky winner. To be in with a chance of winning them, all you have to do is tell us which fabulous GLTC bookcase or book storage solution you would choose to best show off the eight Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler books by adding your entry below. Good luck!

Julia & Axel Fan of Books

GLTC Julia Donaldson Book Giveaway

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

3 Little Buttons
Run Jump Scrap!
Cuddle Fairy

Follow:

91 Comments

  1. Emma Fox
    June 2, 2016 / 7:25 am

    My son would love the Potter Library table as he would be able to store lots of books in there!

    • June 2, 2016 / 1:18 pm

      We’re biased, but its our favourite too and would definitely recommend it. It does store lots of books and is perfect for little hands to pull books out from πŸ™‚

  2. June 2, 2016 / 9:54 am

    I’m pregnant with my first baby and I want their room to be full of books! Great giveaway πŸ™‚

    • June 2, 2016 / 1:18 pm

      Aww congrats, such an exciting time! Hope you’ve entered the giveaway, this collection would be a lovely start to a great book collection πŸ™‚

  3. June 2, 2016 / 10:47 am

    GLTC do such gorgeous furniture and I’d definitely like a nice bookcase for Poppy when she’s a little older. I also need to check out some of the younger Julia Donaldson books!
    Fran Back With A Bump recently posted…The Battery Life of FriendshipsMy Profile

    • June 2, 2016 / 1:16 pm

      Oh they absolutely do! Sure both of your girls would love one of their lovely bookcases πŸ™‚ Definitely recommend the Julia Donaldson Acorn Wood Tales, they’re really nice little reads.. x

  4. Vicky H
    June 2, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    We already have a GLTC sling bookcase and one of the wall mounted cases and they’re both full so I’d probably go for one of the pull along carts next!

    • June 4, 2016 / 12:20 am

      Aww the pull along carts are lovely! I have my eyes on one of their Miss Cat ones for our little lady. It sounds like you are building a fab little library for your little one/s :-). Thanks for entering and good luck!

  5. Michelle Porter
    June 4, 2016 / 5:17 pm

    I would love to show off these fab books on the TownHouse book case. A beautiful
    Item xx

    • June 4, 2016 / 11:03 pm

      Oooh good choice! Thats a lovely bookcase πŸ™‚ Good luck, and thank you for entering!

  6. June 5, 2016 / 9:52 am

    Oh I love GLTC frniture and how lovely that they are collaborating with Macmillian! Love all of those books too. Such a lovely idea. We would love the Potter library table. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday
    Emma recently posted…Green People Sun Lotion ReviewMy Profile

  7. June 5, 2016 / 4:02 pm

    My boy is a bit older now so it would have to be the islander bookcase – you can’t beat a proper bookcase, you can keep it forever! Love GLTC!

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:14 am

      Oooh great choice for the older ones! I love the white, so fresh and clean looking πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:18 am

      Such a lovely bookshelf! Very traditional looking and great for big and small little ones πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:24 am

      I agree, I dont think you could find a better collaboration! Its lovely working with them both. Make sure you enter the giveaway if you havent already, sure your little ones would love the books πŸ™‚

  8. June 6, 2016 / 6:03 am

    Awesome collection of books there, love the book case #MarvMondays

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:25 am

      Thanks, they really are lovely books. I dont know if you’ve come across them in SA, but worth checking out if not πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:26 am

      Thanks lovely, your little ones would love these books! Make sure you enter the giveaway if you havent already!

  9. June 6, 2016 / 7:16 am

    julia donaldson and axel scheffler are favourites in our house too. The whale and the snail are my favourite to be honest. I love the rhyming and choice of words. Kinds poetic. My children love the books. and you can’t beat a good book.

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:27 am

      Oh the Whale and the Snail is lovely! We only read it for the first time a few weeks ago and I felt like we’d been missing out. Really lovely story πŸ™‚

  10. The Tale of Mummyhood
    June 6, 2016 / 7:47 am

    I am a complete bookworm and love reading as a family. These look great, thanks for sharing!

    #MarvMondays

  11. June 6, 2016 / 11:31 am

    Oh I love all these books, and the GLTC storage is fab, I keep wondering which bookcase to buy as I need a new one – either teh Clifton toy storage or the ladder bookcase! x #MarvMondays

  12. June 6, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    I would enter the competition only we’ve already got them all!! We love Julia Donaldson in our house! #marvmondays
    Crummy Mummy recently posted…10 of the best baby firstsMy Profile

  13. June 6, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    Oh what beautiful photographs – My three always loved the Julia Donaldson books – just perfect for smalls – I used to love nothing more than curling up with a toddler and a pile of books. The GLTC storage looks gorgeous too #MarvMondays
    justsayingmum recently posted…Darling, It’s Your Time NowMy Profile

  14. June 6, 2016 / 1:24 pm

    Such a gorgeous post and my daughter is also as massive book lover i can relate to it all πŸ™‚ It’s so nice when its gone quiet and Phoebe is sat quietly reading her books! I would love the Pottery Library Table, as we have shelves already. Thanks for sharing and telling me all about a fabulous company, I’m on there site now! #MarvMondays

  15. June 6, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    Lovely competion, Clem loves the Gruffalo. Oh I’ve been looking at GLTC for a while now as we are thinking of re-doing Clems room. I really like the star book ledges and the sling bookcases. Clem has so many books, we would need a lot of storage for them.x #marvmondays
    Ky recently posted…20 Questions for the Mum TagMy Profile

  16. June 6, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    I am not familiar with Julia Donaldson. Would have loved these when my boys were little.

  17. Anthony Harrington
    June 6, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    I like the Book Storage Cart – Mr Bear

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:29 am

      The storage carts are very sweet! Good luck and thanks for entering πŸ™‚

  18. June 6, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    Ohh.. these look lovely. Jane is really into Gruffalo so it looks like a winner to me! #MarvMondays

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:30 am

      Its such a lovely little set of books. I’m so pleased to have them as a giveaway on the blog. Make sure you enter, and if you have already then good luck!

  19. June 6, 2016 / 5:00 pm

    My little boy is 6 months and loves the Gruffalo, he doesn’t understand it yet obviously but he loves the rhyming and how it sounds when I read it to him. I love books myself so I am really keen to get him to love them as soon as he can too!x
    #marvmondays

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:33 am

      Aww thats really sweet. I think the rhymes and the rhythms of the words in these books are great for little ones too. I’m sure in a few more months he’ll really enjoy and start to understand the stories πŸ™‚

  20. June 6, 2016 / 7:07 pm

    I am besotted with Julia Donaldson’s books and luckily the tots love them too! I now know both of the Gruffalo books and Room on the Broom off by heart – which comes in handy sometimes when we’re out and about haha. Love the Townhouse bookcase. So mane beautiful pieces of furniture – it was hard to chose!

    Thanks for hosting #marvmondays x

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:34 am

      You and me both! Although I can imagine as someone that writes poems, you will be so much more besotted with them! The townhown bookcase is lovely, and one of our other favourites too πŸ™‚ Make sure you enter the giveaway and if you have already then good luck!

  21. June 6, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    We love these books too, I hadn’t heard of GLTC before, will go and check them out now. We have sooooooo many books that are crying out for a gorgeous place to be displayed and stored. #MarvMondays
    Mum-Work-Repeat recently posted…Do I have a daddy?My Profile

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:38 am

      You definitely have to check them out. They have so much lovely furniture, storage and toys for little ones and the home. You will find so many lovely bookcases it’ll probably be hard to pick between them (at least thats usually the case for us!) πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:42 am

      Its such a lovely table and perfect for storing all our new Julia Donaldson books πŸ™‚ Your little ones will love this giveaway if you are Julia Donaldson fans too so make sure you enter if you havent already!

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:43 am

      Oh then you definitely have to enter this giveaway if you havent already, your little one will love it. Its the perfect collection for her πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:44 am

      I have to say, it is a rather perfect combination πŸ™‚

  22. June 6, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    My three kids always come back to these books. Just timeless! We’ve almost got them all! #MarvMondays

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:47 am

      They are such lovely books, definitely classics for any childs book collection πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:49 am

      Oh the Potter book caddy is one of my other favourites, I was really tempted to buy it too! Make sure you enter the giveaway if you havent already, its a lovely little collection of Julia Donaldson books to win πŸ™‚

  23. June 7, 2016 / 11:33 am

    I misread and thought Goldie Looking Chain had branched out into furniture!! πŸ™‚ Beautiful GLTC bookcases, I love the Townhouse as Flump’s bedroom is tiny so her books are all squashed into one basket. #MARVMONDAYS
    Mess and Merlot recently posted…Back in the game- ishMy Profile

    • June 7, 2016 / 11:52 am

      Ha, ha! Can you imagine πŸ˜‰ The townhouse is gorgeous, and perfect for a small room. I bet it would look lovely in her room πŸ™‚

  24. June 7, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    Great giveaway, we are massive Julia Donaldson fans here. I love the book table too – really great and stylish way to store books

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:16 pm

      Thanks! I’d definitely recommend the potter library table, my little one loves it πŸ™‚

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:15 pm

      Gorgeous bookcase, and very popular from others responses too πŸ™‚

  25. Laura Atkins
    June 8, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    I love the Townhouse bookcase πŸ™‚

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:12 pm

      Oh great choice! Lovely bookcases, difficult to choose between them, as is ofteh the case with GLTC things πŸ˜‰

  26. June 8, 2016 / 8:33 pm

    Love, love, LOVE Julia Donaldson. We have the complete set of Hairy Maclary and I just can’t get enough of them. The GLTC Townhouse Bookcase so really beautiful. I am sure Little Button would agree. #DreamTeam
    Annette, 3 Little Buttons recently posted…#DreamTeam Linky 6My Profile

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:11 pm

      We have yet to read Hairy Maclary but I recognise the title. Definitely a set to get in the future! The GLTC townhouse bookcase is lovely, im sure Little Button would love it πŸ™‚

  27. June 8, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    I’d choose the alphabet sling bookcase, it’s lovely and would fit perfectly in my girls rainbow themed nursery!

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:09 pm

      A good choice! Your little girls rainbow themed nursery sounds lovely πŸ™‚

  28. June 8, 2016 / 10:50 pm

    I’d go for the ladder bookcase as it looks like it would fit with the design in our house and also have space for loads of books!

    Great reviews here and heres keeping my fingers crossed!:)

    Mainy x

    #KCACOLS

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:09 pm

      Ooooh, thats one pretty bookcase! I wish we had some space left for it in ours too πŸ™‚

  29. June 9, 2016 / 6:58 am

    There aren’t enough words for how much we love Julia Donaldson. Our faves are Nigh Monkey Day Monkey and A Squash and a Squeeze X #marvmondays
    Laura recently posted…Mummy-On-DemandMy Profile

    • June 14, 2016 / 2:07 pm

      We love a squash and a squeeze too! I havent heard of the other one so will definitely be checking that out soon πŸ™‚

  30. June 12, 2016 / 8:09 am

    Love the GLTC furniture. We’ve recently changed up our bedtime routine to include reading, but think my little man is still too small for paper books, I can’t wait for him to get a little bit older so I can introduce him to all the great books from when I was little. I love her little reading tent set up, looks lvoely and cosy! Hopefully my little man will love reading as much as your little lady x #MarvMondays

    • June 14, 2016 / 1:59 pm

      That sounds lovely. Its so nice when you get to the stage that you are able to read books to them at bedtime. Its definitely one of our favourite times of the day πŸ™‚

  31. June 12, 2016 / 12:36 pm

    I love love LOVE Julia Donaldson’s books. Is there a parent who doesn’t? Such a clever imaginative writer. This is a fab giveaway. And that GLTC furniture looks great. Your photos are always amazing anyway so they really help promote a product. Hope your little lady is loving her book time with Mama. #MarvMondays
    absolutely prabulous recently posted…To M on Your 12th Birthday. It’s Not You, It’s Me. SorryMy Profile

    • June 14, 2016 / 1:56 pm

      Er good question, probably not! I think its a fab prize too and would love to win this myself. Hopefully others think so too πŸ˜‰

  32. June 12, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    I really do need to invest in a new bookcase for Alfie, he has sooo many books and is also a huge Julia Donaldson fan, we can recite most of the books from heart now. My personal fav is the snail and the whale and Alfie’s is monkey puzzle at the moment! Thanks for linking up and a great comp. #bestandworst
    Helen Gandy recently posted…Growing Old, Feeling Young.My Profile

    • June 14, 2016 / 1:51 pm

      Thanks, I hope you entered it and if you did then good luck! We’ve only just discoved the snail and the whale and monkey puzzle and love both! Julia Donaldson really does write the loveliest stories πŸ™‚

  33. June 13, 2016 / 8:05 am

    These are wonderful books! I love the shot of your daughter reading in the tent. There’s nothing like a good book. Thanks so much for joining us at #BloggerClubUK x

    • June 14, 2016 / 1:39 pm

      Thanks lovely! Julia Donaldson is definitely one of our all time favourites πŸ™‚

    • June 16, 2016 / 11:04 pm

      Thanks! Hope you entered the competition if your little ones dont have all of these books already πŸ™‚

  34. June 16, 2016 / 12:41 pm

    I just adore Julia’s book, I think I have the entire collection. My kids adore her too ;).. #coolmumclub

    • June 16, 2016 / 11:03 pm

      Thats pretty amazing! I need to have a look at what else shes written that we dont have, we have quite a few now but there are loads that we dont have still!

    • June 16, 2016 / 11:02 pm

      I know, I cant believe how many lovely stories she has written. I didnt realise there were quite so many! We’ve loved discovering some of the ones in collection we are giving away in the competition. Its definitely a great prize πŸ™‚

  35. June 16, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    My boy LOVES julia Donaldson. Room on the Broom and The Smartest Giant in town are his favourites. We desperately need somewhere to store all his books so I will be checking out GLTC. It is so lovely your little girl loves reading and reads to hEr toys πŸ™‚ xx #coolmumclub
    wendy recently posted…Read me a story reviewMy Profile

    • June 16, 2016 / 10:49 pm

      Oh we love those too, two great classic books πŸ™‚ Lots of great book storage ideas and solutions at GLTC, im sure itll be hard to narrow them down πŸ˜‰

  36. melanie stirling
    June 16, 2016 / 9:29 pm

    I would like the Greenaway Gallery bookcase in turquoise.

    • June 16, 2016 / 10:47 pm

      Lovely choice! I love that classic library look that the Greenaway creates πŸ™‚

  37. Janice Mackin
    June 16, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    The Book Storage Cart – Miss Cat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Commentluv