GLTC Potter Library Table

Potter Library Bookcase Front View

When we moved into our new house this spring, we couldn’t wait to get started with decorating our little lady’s room and began as soon as the carpets were down and the paint was dry. One of the most exciting things about buying a house is getting to put your own stamp on it and I couldn’t wait to create the perfect space for our little one. We were lucky enough to discover the Great Little Trading Company when the little lady was just a few months old and have been huge fans ever since. Its one of those companies that has so many lovely products that you cant help but want to buy almost everything they sell. We’ve bought lots of bits and pieces over the last two years and regularly have a browse through their website and catalogue to see whats new. As soon as I saw the Potter Library Table on their website I just knew we had to get it for the little lady’s room.

Not only would it look perfect, but she would probably love it too given her fondness for books. As proud, but financially stretched new homeowners we (mostly I) spent about a month or two obsessing about it and checking it was still in stock before we actually committed to ordering it. The Β£90 price tag did make me really consider the purchase, but I have to say it is totally worth the price it commands. Designed by the stylish folks at GLTC, they have managed to put a modern twist on the classic library table design and produce what has to be the sweetest little library table in existence. Made from sturdy MDF which has been finished in a stylish matt white, exposed pine legs and a cute little blackboard sign, it not only looks, but feels well designed and put together.

Picking Books from the Pottery Library

It is as GLTC say on their website, the perfect height for young readers. Strategically placed next to the little lady’s bed, she can very easily browse, select and put back her books as and when she pleases. As an independent toddler she loves to do things herself and its great to have a piece of furniture that develops and gives her that independence. Before we ordered it I wasnt sure how many books we’d be able to fit in it and I was a little worried that we might have a surplus of books to squeeze in elsewhere, but I’ve been really pleasantly surprised by how many we’ve been able to fit in it (loads!) and still have space for more. It’s really easy to organise and looks good pretty much any way you decide to arrange your books. The little lady has books in all sorts of sizes and formats and yet it always looks stylish no matter whether its her or me that organises it.

Reading Books in Bed

I absolutely adore the Potter Library Table. It is my favourite piece of furniture in the little lady’s room and is always the first thing people see and comment on when they walk into the little lady’s room. I would definitely recommend it to anyone else with little bookworms, so if you are looking for that stand out bookcase then this has to be it. The fact that it happens to also be stylish, practical and functional just gives you less excuses not to buy it!

What do you think of the Potter Library Table and its twist on a classic design? Are you more of a traditional book shelf person, but quite tempted by this design? I know I was, so I’d love to hear what you think!

This was an unpaid for review for our Things We Love Series. All opinions are my own.

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

 

Mami 2 Five

Family Fever

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Follow:

29 Comments

  1. October 13, 2015 / 10:33 am

    I love the look of this table. We could do with this in our house as all my daughter does it throw her books off her book shelf. Love stuff from GLTC X #tWINKLYtUESDAY
    kerry norris recently posted…To write a birth plan or notMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 10:44 am

      Thanks Kerry. Its really sweet isnt it. Its also great for getting them to keep their books organised without them realising it! I love that we now look like we have a very organised bookcase without really trying πŸ™‚

  2. October 13, 2015 / 11:44 am

    This is a brilliant book storage solution. Sometimes it’s really hard to find the specific book that you are looking for on a traditional bookcase.

    #triedtested
    Catherine @ story snug recently posted…The Worst Witch by Jill MurphyMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 12:01 pm

      You raise a very good point! It’s a winner on some many fronts πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 2:31 pm

      I know, it’s the best of both worlds – practical and aesthetically pleasing πŸ™‚

  3. October 13, 2015 / 12:47 pm

    This looks amazing, I think I will need to get one for my little lady when she gets a bit older( Only 7 months just now) Reading is so important and this looks like a fab way for little ones to stay interested in books.

    #KCACOLS
    Azaria
    Being mrs lynch
    Azaria Lynch recently posted…The Lynch Family ScheduleMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 2:58 pm

      Thanks Azaria, I would definitely recommend it. Once she is walking and toddling about it’ll be the perfect little library for her to explore πŸ™‚

  4. Sugar&Rhubarb
    October 13, 2015 / 1:31 pm

    I love GLTC stuff and this looks amazing! I’m torn between buying one of these, or the ladder shelves that they sell for book storage.
    #TwinklyTuesday
    Sugar&Rhubarb recently posted…AW15 Girls Boots WishlistMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 2:59 pm

      Ahh I know your pain! They also have some really nice alternative options to pick from and I was really torn at one point. It’s a difficult one, let me know what you decide! πŸ™‚

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 8:34 pm

      Its sooooooo nice isn’t it! πŸ™‚

  5. October 13, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    Its a great storage solution, however it would be too big for my room and I know my mummy would be banging her shins on it! Its very stylish πŸ™‚ #triedtested x
    Baby Isabella recently posted…Sandy Sea Monsters on the beach!My Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      Aww what a shame! Glad you liked it though πŸ˜‰

  6. October 13, 2015 / 9:05 pm

    What a lovely way to display books and make them easily accessible.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x
    Colette B recently posted…Star Wars Reads – ReviewMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 13, 2015 / 9:27 pm

      Thanks, it’s a lovely little table. Enjoyed linking up to tried and tested for the first time!

  7. October 14, 2015 / 9:25 am

    This is just wonderful – I love that it makes books so accessible. We have something similar from Tidy Books. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested
    Kate Fever recently posted…Tried & Tested TuesdayMy Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 14, 2015 / 10:26 am

      It’s the perfect way to encourage little ones love for books isn’t it πŸ™‚

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 18, 2015 / 8:32 am

      I know, they are pretty pricey and there are definitely times when I have to really think about whether to order something or not, but they often have sales (like now!) and discounts from time to time which can sometimes make the difference between a purchase or not πŸ˜‰

  8. October 17, 2015 / 11:48 am

    this table is so cute Emily!! I like that you can organise the books what ever you want and that you can fit lots of books!! also the height is perfect for our kids to feel independent as you already mentioned. I love it!! If I had more space in my little flat I would definitely go for something like that. Thank you so much for linking up with me at #KCACOLS. Hope to see you again!! πŸ™‚ xx
    A Moment with Franca recently posted…After All…..Tomorrow is Another Day!My Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 18, 2015 / 8:28 am

      Thanks, it’s my favourite thing in my little ones room. It’s such a great product, such a shame you can’t fit it in! πŸ˜‰

  9. October 17, 2015 / 4:45 pm

    This is a really great library table for kids – it really allows them to reach over the books to properly see what they have so they can choose what to read (all in an organised way too). Thanks for sharing! #KCACOLS

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 18, 2015 / 8:27 am

      Thanks, I agree! Its such an accessible and easy to use table for the little ones πŸ™‚

  10. October 18, 2015 / 9:55 pm

    Oh, I do love that! It is gorgeous and stylish and perfect for any little book worm. Little Miss H’s books are currently littered all over the house. I would love to have something like this in her room. But the price tag would put me off. I might have to see if i can get something similar and upcycle. Thanks for sharing with #SundaysStars. I am sorry it has taken me so long to comment. Hugs Mrs H xxxx PS I adore your little miss’s bed. That is completely gorgeous.
    Mrs H recently posted…Your current behaviour has got to stop!My Profile

    • My Petit Canard
      Author
      October 18, 2015 / 10:35 pm

      That is such a great idea – up cycling something! I bet you could make something great πŸ™‚ GLTC do have 15/20% sales quite often, but even so it is still a little on the pricey side so I guess if you can make something similar why not?! Thanks for reading, I love Sunday stars πŸ™‚

  11. Heidi
    August 12, 2018 / 8:11 am

    Do you still use this? Thank you for all the photos, that’s really useful:) I’m torn between this one and the larger one… They’re so pretty and fictional! X

    • Heidi
      August 12, 2018 / 8:13 am

      Functional, autocorrect x

    • August 12, 2018 / 8:50 am

      Hi Heidi, yes we still use it in our little ones room today! It’s super function and looks great too. What I love about it is that it is at the perfect height for them to help themselves to books and put them back too. We did run out of room a little while ago though so are contemplating our next bookshelf purchase – most likely one of the lovely wall ones which I’ve had my eye on for some time now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Commentluv